RSS

What I Learned From Neil Patel That Most Other Marketers Don’t Have

13 Feb

neilpatel-pic2

photo credit Neil Patel

Do a search online on Digital Marketing, Online Marketing, or Content Marketing and it’s inevitable that Neil Patel will be in the top 5 (if not the top 3) of search engine results. It’s safe to say that he is the authority in all these areas of Marketing.

If you choose to dispute it take this into consideration.

I’m at that point in my life where I’m ready to make a career transition. I prefer to work doing something that I love and brings me fulfillment, rather than doing something just because it makes me money. I want to finally go fully into a field doing what I’m really passionate about which is Marketing, more specifically Content Marketing. Rather than dabbling in other areas like direct selling and online English tutoring that though makes me money, really brings me no joy if I’m honest with myself.

Every time I research jobs or do interviews they always ask one of the following:

  1. Read this article (by Neil Patel) and write one like it

  2. Be able to research and write articles (like Neil Patel)

  3. At the very least mentions that they want someone who writes long-form content like Neil Patel

This is from a cross-section of different jobs, from different job sites, in different countries, of different industries. So it’s not like all the job postings come from one particular site or person.

Let’s just agree that Neil is the authority in this area and let it rest.

Anyway.

Last week Neil sent out an email to him list asking to write a blog post or do a video mentioning something we had learned and implemented from reading his blog posts (if you’re on his list you know the email I’m referring to). I wrote back to him letting him know that I hadn’t really implemented anything really from the posts I read. Maybe just a few tweaks and changes to my SEO tactics, or using Buzzsumo for long-form keyword searches and competitor analysis, but nothing that warranted a full blog post, much less a video from me. He responded, we had a short email exchange, and that was it.

Over the weekend I came across an article by Andy Drish titled How To Get Your Story Featured In Entrepreneur Magazine. In it he made the point that the reason why most articles get rejected by editors is because the person pitching is focused on their business (which the editor doesn’t care about), instead of the story first. In this story he specifically made mention of Entrepreneur Magazine Editor-In-Chief Jason Feifer.

In that moment I had an epiphany, and I finally realized something. I realized what I had learned from Neil Patel that no other Marketer has. I realized why Neil can send me 10 emails in one day, and I’ll be just as eager to open the 10th one as I was opening the 1st one. Yet why another marketer can email me one every 2 weeks, and I still won’t take the time to even open, much less click their link. It’s the reason why Andy mentions that some emails to editors gets noticed and others don’t. It’s the reason some stand out from the everyday, mundane, emails that floods his inbox.

So Neil if you’re reading this, here’s the answer to your email on what I learned

 

What I Learned From Neil Patel

You may think what I’m going to mention is something that has to do with tactics, strategies, or the methods of Online Marketing, but it’s none of those.

Why is it that so many people see Neil as the authority in the Online Marketing space, even when there are others more knowledgeable and qualified than he is? (I’m just being real Neil)

Why is it that every employer wants someone who can write like Neil?

Why is it that though you have Marketing websites that generate more traffic, yet Neil generates more engagement?

What did I learn from Neil that most other marketers don’t have?

It’s sincerity and authenticity.

Yes I know you were expecting something that would part the heavens and make the angels sing, but it’s something so simple, yet so overlooked, especially today in the online space. Based on his actions (not his words), I can tell Neil genuinely is thinking about the other person, as opposed to the others who think about helping you, to their benefit. It’s a slight mind shift, but a significant one. It’s the reason James will open some email pitches and ignore the others, because the others make it about them, while the ones that get opened make it about the person they are writing to.

Everyone these days seems to be in the business of “helping” people (and I don’t say the word ‘business’ lightly). Everyone claims how much they care and genuinely want to help you succeed. However, pay attention to their actions and you will realize that their words often times never align with their actions. They say one thing but do another.

I’m subscribed to a number of Marketing email lists, and have been for as long as 8 years because as I said I love Marketing. I’ve begun to realize a trend in each. It starts out with the person mentioning how much they want to help you and have your best interest at heart. There’s typically a free offer for you to opt-in. Then maybe 2-3 emails that are valuable and helpful, and you begin to think “This isn’t so bad, I like this.” Then afterwards comes the slew of emails with sales pitches telling you about their “amazing” product, and “awesome” offer that you MUST get right away otherwise you’ll miss the golden opportunity.

They tell you of how much money their making and how many people they’ve helped make money with their offer. How they give away most of their content, and that it is better than most paid content. Basically, it’s an ad for how amazing they are and that’s why you should buy from them.

Some of these emails have become so irritating that as good as the information may be, I’m one more sales pitch email away from unsubscribing from these lists.

Now I’m not saying that trying to sell your offer is bad, and I’m not against selling, after all you are in business to make money. However, let me break down the psychology of why Neil stands out above all these other Marketers.

Every single email I’ve received from Neil since I joined his mailing list early December 2016 has only included tip, tactics, and techniques that will help me improve my site traffic, SEO, and content marketing strategy. I am yet to receive an email where Neil is pitching me on any offer. If it’s not about an article he wrote or webinar I can join to learn more helpful information from him, then it’s not from Neil. Contrast this with other email lists where after the first week they’re already asking me to spend money with them.

Like dude! I don’t even know you like that!

To be honest I don’t even know what Neil sells really in terms of a specific product or service with a specific name because I’ve never been pitched by him. The only reason I know he makes money from what he does is because I know he owns KISSmetrics, Quicksprout, and CrazyEgg. The only way I knew that he owns these companies is because if you’re in the Marketing space long enough you will eventually connect the dots.

Not only does his emails offer content that really seeks to help, but he engages with his audience. I mentioned above of the email I sent to Neil and he took the time to respond in less than 24 hours. I doubt I’m the only one sending him emails, I doubt I’m the only one seeking his time, and I doubt he knows me any more than he knows the serial number on the chip that fits in his smartphone. Yet he decided to take the time to reply.

email-correspondent-with-neilemail-correspondent-with-neil-2

I wasn’t just saying he puts out great content and is really helpful because I wanted to stroke his ego and get his attention so he would respond to my email, I genuinely meant it.

Looking at the difference with another marketer who sent out an email asking for feedback, and I did respond, and also included a question (just as I did with Neil). *crickets* I got no response from the second person. Then a few days later a second email came in with a follow up sales pitch. I then realized that the emails sent were actually a part of a workflow system (or email automation) the individual set up for this sequence of emails.

See the difference between a Marketer who is sincere versus one who is all about the pitch?

Conclusion

So to answer the question of what I learned from Neil that no other Marketer has (but can learn to have) it’s simply this:

If you focus on helping people, like genuinely, sincerely, and truly helping people. Not just pitching bullshit that you are but your actions say otherwise, then people will see that you’re real, you’re authentic, and they’ll be willing to throw their money at you without you even having to ask. However, if you help 20% of the time and spend the other 80% just pitching, your efforts and approach will actually have a negative effect and drive your potential customers away.

The Ranter

Comment below and let me know your thoughts on this

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
