RSS

How Bad Customer Support Is Killing Your Business

09 Jan

what_is_bad_customer_service_costing_your_business

Photo credit: Social Mouths

I haven’t posted in a while mainly because of another blog project I’m putting all my focus on http://www.5y2m.com (#clickbait) . Fortunately, I had a recent experience that gave me an opportunity to rant about (I wanted to wait until I was no longer annoyed to write this).

SO…I’ve been looking for a platform that can offer me certain functions I need for my other blog, namely list building and email marketing capabilities. After weeks of research I came down to two choices, and still needed to make a final decision (which was hard in itself). Platform A had everything I needed, the montly cost was attractive to me, and it pretty much integrated with everything I needed in one. The only drawback was that it didn’t have one key functionality that’s a must for me, based on what I need to do.

Platform B has that one key functionality I need. However, in comparison to Platform A, Platform B has a few disadvantages in that I would need 2 separate platforms to perform the same functions Platform A could do altogether with one. Additionally, Platform B is 4x as costly as Platform A. Platform B was at a significant disadvantage.

I wanted to give you the context of this rant before getting to the point

 

How Support Is Killing Your Business

When it comes to your marketing and branding efforts, the first voice over the telephone, or the first face your potential and existing customers see when they enter your business is the life or death of your business. It is the difference between someone deciding to be your customer for life, or them telling everyone how incredibly horrible your service is, and as the saying goes bad news travels faster.

bad-customer-service2b2Photo credit: The Vinyl Anachronist

It’s not enough just to have any old person as the voice or face of your support team who is just looking to collect a paycheck and go home. It has to be someone who 1). Actually enjoys their job, and 2). Actually likes people. Without these two you’re in trouble.

Many businesses never consider their support as a part of their overall branding. Many seem to believe branding starts and stops with Marketing, but fail to realize that Marketing is responsible for communicating the Brand Message and Value. However, your entire company is your branding, from Sales, Marketing, Customer Service, even Tech Support is the face of your brand.

If they interact with your customers, they ARE your brand.

Anyway…

That key functionality I mentioned, I needed to know for sure if either platform was capable of doing it. So I got on their websites to chat with customer support. Take into consideration before these two conversations I was already ready to go with Platform A, I just didn’t want to leap in without weighing my options first.

So speaking with customer support from Platform A first. Firstly, when asking her certain questions I could immediately tell from her tone that I was bothering her (I suppose she had more important things to do). She answered my questions but it was very half-assed, and it was clear she didn’t care to make much of an effort in answering them. There was even a moment when I asked a question and she said she would find out and get back to me, and at the end of the conversation I had to remind her that she hadn’t answered my question. At the end of that conversation I was annoyed to say the least.

I then got in contact with Platform B customer support right after. However, rather than a live chat the conversation took place over email. Firstly, when the customer support from Platform B responded her energetic personality was infectious, she immediately changed my tone from annoyed to pleasant. She was very personable, and saying she was ‘helpful’ would be an understatement. She not only answered my question by letting me know that the platform had the functionality I was looking for, but she literally sent me a 1,000 word essay in the form of email explaining exactly how I could execute what I wanted with their platform, and two different options to do so. At the end she reassured me that if I had any other questions or challenges she would be more than happy to answer them so I can email her directly. Throughout the enter email correspondent it didn’t feel like I was talking to a support rep, it felt like I was talking with a good friend of mine that just happen to work for Platform B.

In the end that one experience one hour later immediately made me change my mind and decided to go with Platform B, even though it will cost me 4 times the cost, and I will have to setup two different accounts with two different platforms to execute what I want to do. Platform A loss pretty much a sure customer because of one bad rep.

All because of amazing customer service Platform B now has me as a customer (or at least because the other customer service sucked).

So in closing as business owners take this as a lesson. When it comes to the first point of contact for your brand and business don’t hire the most qualified person for the job, hire the most passionate and RIGHT person for the job. Just because they can do the job well doesn’t mean they are best suited for the job.

Your Brand depends on it!

The Ranter.

 

Have you had an experience with customer support that caused you to switch brands? Let me know your story in the comments below

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 9, 2017 in Brands

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
