RSS

Digicel ‘Jus Buss’ Is A Mus’

09 Mar

If you have been following my tweets you know for sure I am not a fan of the dancing and singing commercials.  Not because I have a problem with dancing and singing, but because I honestly believe we (by we I mean Jamaicans) have exhausted that advertising tactic way past its expiration date.  It seems every last commercial for the past since the invention of the television has been about someone doing a dance or a sing-a-long tune to catch the ears and eyes of potential consumers.  To be honest it just shows a lack of creativity in my view. Now don’t get me wrong maybe 50 years ago it was a hit, but at some point you have to put Old Yellow to rest and just shoot the dog.  It has now become tacky and useless, and I think my senses are becoming somewhat numb to any commercial once I hear it starts off with a catchy tune and a song.

With that being said…

Every millennium there is that one Ad that surprises me and catches me off-guard.  Suffice to say my senses are reawakened by the exhilarating feel of excitement and pleasure that comes from a well executed Marketing effort. Yet another lifetime has passed and I feel I have found it in the new Digicel Jamaica ‘Jus Buss’ Ad. For those of you who may not be aware Digicel is a major telecommunication company in Jamaica, and the term ‘Jus Buss’ means something that has just been released, hence meaning it is new and trendy.

Now what they are doing is nothing new as far as I am concerned, it’s the same dance moves with the same dancers and the same concept. However, I believe what is different this time is the execution of the Ad. I didn’t realize it at first because as mentioned as soon as I hear a tune start playing my senses become numb.  In this instance however, half way through the Ad I found my senses doing quite the opposite.  I was attentive, I was receptive, I wanted to know what the Ad was about.  Still, my attentiveness, receptiveness or curiosity was not what made the Ad successful in my eyes. It was the unexpected truth that even after the Ad ended I found myself still singing the tune with a cheerful step.  It stuck with me through the night into the morning.

This is the type of execution that very few are able to accomplish. The method may not have been new, but the purpose was accomplished: getting me to keep the brand in my mind long after the Ad had passed. I am very impressed as this is a feat very few (if any at all) other singing-dancing Ads can accomplish.

So I have to give this one a 4.5 out of 5 rating.  Good job Digicel, keep it up.

Below is the video, let me know your thoughts by commenting below.

The Ranter.

Ad

Hey look they even have a music video for it

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
